Two modes of "Trash" in Files app

Files that you delete in Files app are actually not deleted at once and are rather moved to special area called "Trash". This is done to protect you from accidental deletion so that you can restore files deleted by mistake. To completely delete unnecessary files, do so in the "Trash" area.

The "Trash" in Files app is available in 2 modes: "All deleted files" and "My private files". You can switch between these two modes at any times to view different lists of deleted files.

In mode "All deleted files" you can see:

  • Files deleted by yourself or by other users to which the deleted files were made accessible in access rights settings. Other users who had access to those files before deletion can also see them in their "Trash" areas in this mode.
  • Your personal deleted files to which only you had access before they were deleted. These personal deleted files are visible in the "Trash" only to yourself.

In mode "My private files" you can see only your personal deleted files to which only you had access before they were deleted. Other users can never view your personal files including the "Trash".

Clearing trash

The "Clear trash" link takes the selected trash mode into account and deletes only the files displayed in the currently selected mode. Thus, if you have selected to view only your personal deleted files, you will not accidentally delete common files as well by using that link.

0 comments

    Add comment

    To add a comment please sign up or login